Late Night Preview

During November I wrote a novel for NaNoWriMo. For those that don’t know, it is the National November Writing Month. I was successful.

With me completing my edits to When The Lights Go Out and waiting for beta readers to give some form of feedback, I have now turned my attention back to my son’s middle grade fiction serial and to editing Culture Shock. My NaNoWriMo book.

In my personal writing process, I like to print out the novel and read it on paper to do the necessary edits. This time, instead of getting staples to do it, I bought a really nice printer and I am able to print it for about an eighth of the cost. With the amount of novels that I plan on writing, I am sure my investment will pay for itself in no time.

My novel Culture Shock is post-apocalypse book, set in a separate would from When the Lights Go Out. Here is a short preview from my work in progress novel. I hope that you enjoy.

          La Garita Caldera, San Jaun, USA. Approx date: 25 Million BCE
Atana Ignimbrite, Chile. Approx date: 3.8 Million BCE
Yellowstone, Idaho, USA. Approx date: 1.9 Million BCE
Lake Taba, North Sumatra, Indonesia. Approx date: 72 Thousand BCE
Orumana Taupo, North Island, New Zealand. Approx Date: 24 Thousand BCE
Mount Tambora, Sumbawa Island, Indonesia Date: 1815 CE

These Supervocanos have erupted before. Each time that they have, there eruptions have changed the Earth’s climate. Some have brought on ices ages, while some have created years with no sun.
The Mount Tambora supervocanic eruption changed the global climate for an entire year. It spewed 120 cubic kilometers of ash and debris into the atmosphere. It turned 1816 CE into the Year without a Summer.
The list above is only some of the world’s known supervolcanos and there last major eruption. Those eruptions were 20 to 50 times larger than the Mount Tombaro eruption.
Scientists claim that many of the supervolcanos of the world are overdue to erupt.
They also claim that many of them are not as dormant as one would hope.

I hope that you have enjoyed the small snippet below and I promise to post more teases in the future with some more of my work.

Keep it shiny.

Nathan Pedde

1 thought on “Late Night Preview”

  1. Unusual! It reminds me of James Michener’s style of writing, that is, starting sometimes after the Earth cooled and working his way up to the present. It intrigues those like me who love geology, prehistory, cosmology and evolution. I would like to see where this leads.

    Like

Leave a Reply

