Late night blurb: Work stopages

So every writer experiences this. Times when it is hard to get any word count down. Times when it feels like you are trying to squeeze water out of a sponge. Well, today was one of those days.

I still managed to get 500 words on my Space Courier book and I edited 30 pages of my Culture Shock book. Not bad for a night that I managed to get writing at 10pm.

What happened?

At 6pm, for some reason I got grumpy. I am not sure 100% why, but I did. Maybe it was my two kids not listening, or maybe the house was too hot. But then once I got grumpy, I stayed grumpy cause I was grumpy that I had gotten grumpy in the first place. Not a good cycle to be in. Once I was grumpy, I couldn’t write. I was too grumpy.

How did I get out of it?

I relaxed. I stopped worrying about writing down words. I had a snack, some tea. And then I managed to pick up work once more.

Was it that easy?

No. I also decided that I wasn’t going to be grumpy anymore. I made a choice in my mind and then I made it happen. I took back control of emotions and I went with it.

Will this work for you?

Maybe. The big thing to remember is to remind yourself that you are the boss of your emotions. Not the other way around. You get angry when you need to be and you are inspired when you need to be. Sometimes really strong emotions, like anger, will interrupt you and take you for a ride. They will run wild and not let you off.

As an adult and a productive creativeblo person, it is up to you to take control. Figure out what sends you into those grumpy spells and what makes you inspired. Then do more of it.

No one is going to write that book but you and if you don’t keep at it, then it won’t get done and we need that fiction. If you send it to me, I will beta read it and put a review on the website of your choice. Just saying.

Leave a Reply

